KISS released their first album 40 years ago today: February 18th, 1974. The self-titled release contained 10 songs, including such now-classics as "Strutter," "Firehouse" and "Black Diamond." (A cover of Bobby Rydell's "Kissin' Time" was added when the album was reissued in July of '74.) The original album only sold 75-thousand copies in 1974, but was certified gold three years later. The highest chart position it reached was number-38 -- in New Zealand.

The album cover echoes Meet The Beatles and has guitarist Ace Frehley with spray-painted silver hair that he thought would wash out. It didn't. Drummer Peter Criss had a professional do his make-up for the cover but did not like how it turned out and went back to doing it himself after that.

KISS track listing:  

  1. "Strutter" (originally titled "Stanley the Parrot")
  2. "Nothin' to Lose"
  3. "Firehouse"
  4. "Cold Gin"
  5. "Let Me Know"
  6. "Kissin' Time"
  7. "Deuce"
  8. "Love Theme from KISS"
  9. "100,000 Years"
  10. "Black Diamond"